Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Archaeology/Anthropology


Total manuscripts: 6

Perkins, R.F. "Chick"
Coll #: 98-08
Extent: 2 record storage boxes, 2 doc boxes
Location: 13:5:1 - 13:5:2
Collection consists of personal papers and photographs of R.F. "Chick" Perkins, who was active in the development of archaeological and museum studies in southern Nevada as well as the reactivation of the Nevada Park Service.

Pueblo Grande
Coll #: T143
Date: 1926 - 1980
Extent: 1 record storage box, 2 slim document boxes (1.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:4:6 Roller Shelf 1.6.4
The Pueblo Grande collection contains essays and correspondence for nomination and documentation of inclusion to the National Register. It also contains photographs and an inventory of Pueblo and Anasazi artifacts included in the Pueblo Grande de Nevada site, Lost City Museum.

Rathbun, Frank D.
Coll #: T144
Date: 1919 - 1939
Extent: 1 document box, 2 slim doc boxes, and 2 flat boxes
Location: 2:3:1 Roller Shelf 1.5.8
The Rathbun papers include publications on the Colorado Aqueduct and telephone lines at Hayfield and the Colorado Rim. There is also a descriptive chapter on desert mirages and archeological field notes written by Rathbun. The archeological materials include inventories from sites in the Southern Great Basin, photos of dwellings and pictographs (taken in the 30s), Nevada Highways and Parks promotional brochures and general newspaper articles on anthropology and archeology (1920s-1930s).

Rozaire, Charles Collection on Tule Springs, Nevada
Coll #: MS-00100
Date: 1955-2005
Extent: 1.38 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 2:5:5 - 2:5:6
The collection comprises approximately 1,000 slides of Tule Springs, Nevada, as well as Rozaire's files documenting archaeological excavation and investigations in Tule Springs (Clark County) from 1955 to 2005. The files include Rozaire's writings, newspaper clippings, journals, diaries, and photocopied articles regarding Tule Springs.
Link to Collection Guide

Stewart - Knack Collection on Nevada Indians
Coll #: 87-026
Date: 1830 - 1975
Extent: 3 large boxes
Location: 3:4:1 - 3:4:2
The Stewart - Knack Collection is a collection of Native American research materials used by Dr. Omer Call Stewart and Dr. Martha Knack. It contains notes, documents, judicial opinions, maps and journal entries dealing with the following tribes: Washo, Northern Paiute, Southern Paiute, Chemehuevi and Mohave. Dr. Knack and Dr. Stewart co-authored the book "As Long as the River Shall Run : An Ethnohistory of Pyramid Lake Indian Reservation." Dr. Knack is a professor in the Anthropology Department of UNLV and Dr. Stewart a Professor Emeritus at University of Colorado, Boulder.INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stewart Ranch Burial Records
Coll #: Mss7
Date: 1905 -1913
Extent: 128 p., bound ; 34 cm
Location: 1:1:1
This collection consists of a record book recording burials for the Las Vegas area before Woodlawn Cemetery was established. Contains names, ages and descriptions of deceased, dates of death, causes of death, and lists burial plots numbers at the Stewart Ranch from 1905-1913. Record book contains a sketch of burial plots and corresponding numbers on flyleaf of book.