You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Agriculture


Total manuscripts: 4

Kane Springs Ranch Collection
Coll #: 2009-11
Extent: 1.42 linear feet (1 document box, and 1 record storage carton)
Location: Consult Director of Special Collections for access
Collection is comprised of records from the Kane Springs Ranch in Meadow Valley Wash, and those of Mrs. Joan Stuart, its last owner . The ranch was originally known as the Kane Springs Ranch, then the Huntsman Ranch after the Huntsman family who owned it, then the Stuart ranch when the ranch was purchased by Bradley Stuart. Bradley’s son, Robert was Joan Stuart’s husband. The ranch had a large orchard and small mining operations. It was located on the wagon road between the Muddy River Mormon settlements and Pioche, now the Union Pacific railroad tracks. Records include history of the Huntsman family, acquisition of right of way by the railroad, water rights, mining, and acquisition of the ranch by the BLM. There is a 5-year restriction on the documents relating to the sale and sale price of the ranch.

Smith, Arlene Mathews
Coll #: Mss49
Date: 1906 - 1965
Extent: 6 folders (containing 33 items)
Location: 1:1:1 and Roller Shelf 1:5.7
Collection consists primarily of material pertaining to Panaca area in Nevada and 4-H activity. Includes 4-H Boys and Girls Club work instructions and record, which consists primarily of U.S.D.A. Farmers Bulletins. Contains two copies of the "Lincoln Lantern" dated 1927. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Whitmore, Sidney
Coll #: Mss48
Date: 1816 -1913
Extent: 5 folders (containing 42 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of land patents, quit claim deeds, shareholder's records, family records, and photographs pertaining to southern Nevada history. Includes information about Moapa Fruit Land Company; A New Compendia of Geography by John Smith; History of George Burton Whitney and wife Lovina Syphus, and her parents Luke Syphus and Christiana Long, photographs of the Colorado River, Utah, and Nevada; descriptions of St. Thomas, Nevada and St. George, Utah. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Wittwer, John
Coll #: T101
Date: 1919 -1948
Extent: 5 record storage boxes and 1doc box
Location: 2:10:3 - 2:10:5
Collection consists of the reports of Southern Nevada Agricultural Extension Agent (County Agent), J.H. Wittwer dating from 1919-1948. The reports contain photographs and information on subjects such as the dairy industry, soil conditions, vegetable production, and flood control in southern Nevada. The reports also detail much of the 4-H activity in the area during this time.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections