You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Sierra Club Records – Toiyabe Chapter, Southern Nevada Group
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 87-96
Date: bulk, 1980-1997 (inclusive, 1970-2003)
Extent: 15 linear feet (3 document boxes and 11 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:3-3:8:2
The Sierra Club Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. A major portion of the archive comes from the work of Jeff van Ee, who has been active in the Sierra Club in Nevada since the early 1970s. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada Group in a variety of environmental issues. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information, the collection showcases the variety of environmental issues in which the chapter has expressed interest. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections