Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Royal Barony of the Desert Empire/Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 2009-14
Date: 1997-2004
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage cartons)
Location: 13:7:3 and 13:7:5
The collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Royal Barony of the Desert Empire, and the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire. It contains administrative and financial records such as charters, bylaws, financial reports, meeting minutes, correspondence, and publicity documenting the clubs activities from 1997-2003. Founded in 1997 as the Royal Barony of the Desert Empire, the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire is the Las Vegas Monarchy of the International Imperial Court system [IIC]. The IIC was founded in San Francisco, California, by Jose Julio Sarria and the Tavern Guild of San Francisco [est. 1965]. The Tavern Guild was established as the gay communitys united front against police harassment. The Guild in 1965 sponsored San Franciscos first large, public drag ball; over 500 gay men and women faced police lines and police photographers to attend the ball, which became an annual tradition. Las Vegass Royal Barony of the Desert Empirewhich includes Lincoln, Nye, and Clark Counties--received its corporate charter on July 3, 1997, and then was elevated to full court status as the Imperial Royal Sovereign Court of the Desert Empire in December 1998. The purpose of the Court is to raise money through shows and other events for local charities, as well as to maintain the integrity of the International Imperial Court system and its charitable mission. An accretion of one record storage carton was added in 2011 that covered the year 2004. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE