You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Center Stage, Inc.
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 2009-06
Date: 1999-2003
Extent: 1.42 linear feet (1 record storage carton and 1 document box)
Location: 13:7:6
Center Stage, Inc., established in 1999 by Lenore Andrea Simon and Alana Brown, was the first LGBT theatre company in Las Vegas. The company's first production was the lesbian-themed Last Summer at Bluefish Cove, which premiered on September 9, 1999 at the Clark County Library Theatre in part as a fundraiser for the Gay and Lesbian Community. Over the next four years Center Stage produced ten plays before it shut down in 2003. The company's demise was due in part to Brown and Simon moving on to other endeavors and other lovers, which broke the creative relationship Center Stage needed to continue. The company's productions were not getting the support from the gay community Brown and Simon expected, while consistently poor reviews directly affected the box office. Center Stage was one of the most important creative developments in the Las Vegas LGBT community, and for the few years it existed, provided the only source of alternative and "issue" theatre in the city. The collection is comprised of organizational records of Center Stage from the years 1999-2003. It includes bylaws, correspondence, meeting minutes, publicity, scripts, programs, cast lists, and VHS tapes of a number of the productions.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections