Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Las Vegas Art Museum Records
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 2009-04
Date: 1950-2009 (inclusive); 1997-2009 (bulk)
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage boxes)
Location: 13:10:6
Collection is comprised of the records of the Las Vegas Art Museum which began its life as the Las Vegas Art League in 1950. In 1966 the Art League moved to Lorenzi Park and in 1974 officially became the LV Art Museum. It was governed by a Board of Directors, mostly local artists. Its exhibitions prior to 1997 were primarily of local art and artists, with a permanent collection of approx. 100 pieces. In 1997 the Museum moved into the Sahara West Library/Fine Art Museum Building, expanded its governing board, broadened its exhibit scope and schedule, and significantly increased its professional staff and members. In 2005 Libby Lumpkin, distinguished art historian and critic, and founding curator of the Bellagio Gallery of Fine Art, became the Museums director and launched an ambitious program of exhibitions, lectures, and publications featuring prominent contemporary artists. Under her direction and with the association of her husband, McArthur Award-winning art critic Dave Hickey, the LVAM became a recognized center of contemporary art. Lacking sufficient funding, the Las Vegas Art Museum officially closed on Feb.28, 2009. The collection is comprised of exhibit catalogs and the museums records including catalogs, programs, and publicity.