Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Plotkin, Lee
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 2006-21
Date: 1955-2006
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 11:11:5
Collection is comprised of the papers of Lee Plotkin -- Las Vegas gay community activist and news columnist. Plotkin worked a lobbyist in the 1993 repeal of Nevadas sodomy law, and has written columns of political commentary for the Las Vegas Bugle, Q-Tribe, and Las Vegas CityLife. Lee Plotkin moved to Las Vegas from Milwaukee, Wisconsin with his family in 1968 where his parents opened a hardware store on Decatur and Charleston Boulevards. Lee emerged from the closet in 1977, and in the absence of credible spokespeople in the mid-1980s, he assumed that responsibility for the Las Vegas gay community. In addition to serving as the communitys media point man, Plotkin had significant positions with the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc.; with Golden Rainbow; and with the Campaign for Liberty. He also served as executive director in Nevada of the National Conference for Community and Justice and was appointed by Nevada Governor Kenny Guinn to a three-year term on the Nevada Equal Rights Commission. The papers in this collection reflect Plotkins political work and associations, and include correspondence, press releases, copies of his columns, institutional and legislative documents, brochures, fliers and other ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide