Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 2001-07
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 24 record storage cartons
Location: 12:6:5 - 12:10:5
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files and books from the Colorado River Commission of Nevada. The major portion of the collection is documents in the form of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, etc., from the Arizona v. California litigation running from 1931 to the 1990s. The Commission used the materials as a reference library to support their role in the ongoing litigation. In support of their mission to manage and protect Nevadas rights to the power and water from the Colorado River, the collection includes significant information regarding the Boulder Canyon Project and subsequent Adjustment Act, the Colorado River Compact, Glen Canyon Dam, Parker Dam, Davis Dam, and Colorado River Salinity in the form of correspondence, official reports, and legislative records. A large portion of the correspondence and documents is in regards to the Western Area Power Administration . The last major part of the collection is comprised operating files from the Commission, particularly the files of Gerald L. Edwards, who was the CRCs Chief Engineer. All of these files not only supported litigation and the operation of the CRC, but also served as an information clearinghouse for information regarding the management of the Colorado River.
Link to Collection Guide