Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Union Pacific Railroad
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 97-19
Date: 1902-1969
Extent: 173.5 linear feet (147 boxes and 38 oversize folders)
Location: 6:5:1 - 7:6:1 Roller Shelf 2.2.2 and 2.2.3
The Union Pacific Collection comprises the original corporate records of the Union Pacific Railroad's operations in Las Vegas but also including southern Nevada, Utah, southern California and Los Angeles. The collection dates from 1902 when Montana Senator William Clark began construction of his San Pedro, Los Angeles, & Salt Lake railroad linking the Union Pacifics mainline in Utah with Los Angeles and southern California to approx. 1967. The collection documents the purchase of the land (the original Stewart ranch) and the construction of the original depot and town which became modern Las Vegas. The collection also contains the records of the Las Vegas Land & Water Company, a subsidiary of the railroad, formed in 1905, to handle all the railroad's land transactions. Besides office files, containing correspondence, reports, leases, various legal, governmental and financial documents, etc., the collection contains large and small format maps, architectural and engineering drawings; published technical reports; railroad operational manuals; bound legal briefs; ledgers; payroll and receipt books. The collection document's the railroads and includes the records of the Land and Tax, Law, Engineering & Industrial Development departments, as well as the personal files of Walter Bracken, the Union Pacific's special representative in Nevada and vice president of the Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The collection contains more than 300,000 pages of correspondence, documents, maps and blue prints organized into more than 4100 files spanning approx.175 linear feet. There are in addition over 5200 maps, blue prints, drawings and tracings. The Union Pacific Collection is the largest and most comprehensive historical collection documenting the early history of Las Vegas, and one of the most significant collections relating to the Union Pacific, and railroads in general, in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide