Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Binion's Horseshoe
(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Coll #: 91-30
Date: 1920s-2003 (inclusive), 1970-1989 (bulk)
Extent: 9 linear feet (8 record storage boxes, 2 document boxes)
Location: 4:9:3 - 4:9:6
The collection spans a significant period in the history of Binions Horseshoe Club, one of the most notable casino-hotels in downtown Las Vegas, which was owned and operated by the Binion family from 1951 to 2004. Its contents reflect the contributions of patriarch and local celebrity Benny Binion to the gaming industry and his effect upon gaming in Las Vegas. Primarily covering the last decade of Binions life up until his death in 1989, the collection details the proceedings and media coverage of the World Series of Poker, hosted at the Horseshoe from 1970 until 2004, a significant endeavor that fundamentally changed the way that poker was viewed and played in the industry. The records also provide documentation on the promotional and advertising activities of the casino, as well as reflecting the influence of the Binions, especially Benny, in Las Vegas. The records consist mostly of publicity and promotional materials that include press releases and press kits, news and ad clippings, photographs, and advertising campaigns and ad copy, mainly generated by the office of Binion press agent Henri Bollinger.
Link to Collection Guide