cml
curriculum materials library

Education Databases :

new Video on research databases for all Nevada residents (requires RealPlayer)

  • Resources for Ed Majors and Teachers
  • Resources for using with K-12 Students

    Resources for Ed Majors and Teachers

    Education Full Text full text
    1996-.
    Full text journal articles in education published after 1996.
    Education Full Text indexes, abstracts and supplies the full text of articles from education-related English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1996 or later are also indexed. Abstracts are available for items published 1994-1996. Subjects include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education
    Vendor name: H. W. Wilson
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula

    ERIC
    1966-.
    Scholarly and popular journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education.
    Use ERIC to search abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, and reports from the field of education. Subject indexing allows you to zero in on all the articles relevant to your topic. ERIC digests offer overviews of significant scholarship on a topic.
    Alternate name: Educational Resource Information Center
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    Update frequency: monthly
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: The Get Text button links to the full text of journal articles that are available online; when an article is not available online, use the link to search the UNLV Library Catalog to discover if there is a print copy. ERIC may also be searched via the FirstSearch interface. RefWorks instructions

    Professional Development Collection full text

    Specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals.
    Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of high-quality, full-text education journals and educational reports.
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: Search tips RefWorks instructions

    Education: A Sage Collection full text
    dates of coverage vary.
    Journal articles in education published in 26 Sage journals.
    Education: A Sage Collection includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by Sage and participating societies distinguished by up to 36 years of backfiles, and encompasses over 7,000 articles. It covers such subject areas as: Adult and Continuing Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Elementary and Primary Education, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Measurement and Testing, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Professional Development, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods.
    Alternate name: CSA Illumina
    Vendor name: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
    Update frequency: weekly
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula

    Children's Literature Comprehensive Database full text

    Reviews of children's books and additional juvenile literature information.
    Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is a research and reference service including reviews of children's books from review sources (all full text searchable), book jacket images, links to web pages featuring individual authors and illustrators, and information provided by various Reading Measurement Programs such as Accelerated Reader, Degrees of Reading Power, Lexile and Reading Counts.
    Vendor name: CLCD
    Update frequency: monthly
    Scope: Children's and Young Adult Literature
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula
    More info: Help

    Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature full text
    Current edition (2006).
    Documents and interprets children's literature throughout the world.
    The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world paying attention to significant international trends and the multicultural expansion of the field. It includes brief biographies of every major author and illustrator, feature essays on all genres of children's literature, individual works, and prominent trends and themes, as well as general essays on the traditions of children's literature in many countries throughout the world.
    Vendor name: Oxford Reference Online
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula

    Kraus Curriculum Development Library full text
    Cumulative index and full text for 20th edition forward.
    Searchable database of complete curriculum documents.
    KCDLonline is a searchable database of curriculum documents that have been developed by experienced curriculum specialists from school systems throughout the English-speaking world. The content covers all disciplines and subjects found in PreK-12 education and Adult Basic Education.
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: Moving Wall

    Mental Measurements Yearbook full text
    1985-2005. 4 simultaneous users.
    Reviews of English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests.
    Produced by the Buros Institute, this database contains information from the 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, and 15th Mental Measurements Yearbooks. Records contain descriptive information and critical reviews of over 2,200 standardized English-language personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, educational, achievement, and intelligence tests. Subject coverage includes behavioral science, education, psychiatry, psychology, speech, language, and hearing.
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: Paper copies back to 1938.Search Tips

    Tests in Print

    A bibliography of commercially available tests in fields such as education, psychology and business.
    The record for a test provides valuable information about the test and links to available reviews in the online Mental Measurements Yearbook.
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Stowers, Eva

    EdITLib Digital Library for Information Technology and Education full text

    Educational technology and e-learning journal articles and proceedings papers.
    Complete contents of 10 peer-reviewed and published international journals and proceedings papers from Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE) conferences. This collection includes the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of educational technology and e-learning.
    Alternate name: AACE Digital Library
    Vendor name: Association for Advancement of Computing in Education
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula; Zald, Anne
    More info: Title list. Search tips.

    Child Development & Adolescent Studies
    1927-.
    Current and historical literature related to growth and development of children.
    Child Development & Adolescent Studies provides citations to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews, abstracts from hundreds of journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, and theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. Use this resource to search all issues of Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography.
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    Update frequency: annual
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula
    More info: Search tips Online version of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography, 1928-2001 available in LASR. Search tips. RefWorks instructions

    Culturegrams full text

    Basic facts about history, culture and lifestyles in 187 countries.
    Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each including 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
    Alternate name: Culturegrams World Edition
    Vendor name: Culturegrams
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Kotula, JD
    More info: Search tips.

    Gallup Brain full text
    1935-.
    Database of public opinions. Also contains in-depth public opinion and management data analyses.
    Searchable database of public opinion including answers to questions and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935. It also contains Gallup Poll News Service articles, Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing articles, and Gallup Management Journal articles that feature in-depth public opinion and management data analyses. Replicas of historical news stories and press releases are also included.
    Vendor name: Gallup Organization
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Skarl, Susie
    More info: Search tips.

    Library Literature & Information Science
    1984-. Access is limited to 1 user at a time..
    Citations to articles on librarianship and information science.
    Library Literature & Information Science is a bibliographic database that indexes articles and book reviews in key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
    Vendor name: Ovid
    Update frequency: Quarterly
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Zald, Anne

    Biography Reference Bank full text
    1981-. Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
    Biographical information on approximately half a million people from antiquity to present, with some images.
    Contains biographical information on more than 400,000 people from antiquity to the present including more than 110,000 biographies. Biography Reference Bank brings together Biography Index, Current Biography Illustrated, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and more into one database.
    Vendor name: H. W. Wilson
    Update frequency: weekly
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Heaton, Shelley
    More info: Search tips.

    Biography Resource Center full text
    antiquity-present.
    Images, brief biographies, and links to magazine articles and websites about notable people.
    Biography Resource Center provides biographical information on more than 185,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Contains approximately 250,000 biographies and complete articles from nearly 250 periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such as birth and death years and places, nationality, ethnicity, occupation, or gender, or combine criteria.
    Vendor name: Thomson Gale
    Update frequency: annual
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Heaton, Shelley
    More info: Search tips.

    Book Review Digest Plus
    1983-.
    Index of book reviews.
    Provides citations and excerpts of reviews of current English-language fiction and nonfiction books for children and adults. An abstract of each book is also provided. To be indexed in Book Review Digest, a book must have been published or distributed in the United States or Canada. A work of nonfiction must have received reviews in two or more of the periodicals on the Book Review Digest selection list. A work of fiction must have received reviews in at least three of the periodicals. Reviews of textbooks, government publications, and technical books in law and the sciences are excluded.
    Vendor name: H. W. Wilson
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Heaton, Shelley
    More info: Print volumes available 1906-2003 in Index Area. Search tips.

    Literature Resource Center (LRC) full text

    Author biographies and overviews of literary criticism from every period.
    Designed to meet the research needs of undergraduates, the Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. LRC covers more than 90,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,000 of the most-studied authors. Search by author name, title, genre, literary movement, or literary themes.
    Vendor name: Gale
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Finley, Priscilla

    ebrary full text
    dates of coverage vary.
    Digital copies of more than 30,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
    Books and other materials are arranged in five main subject areas - business and economics, career and general education, computers, engineering and applied sciences, humanities, social/behavioral sciences and life/physical sciences. The ebrary reader is required to view books and can be downloaded for free from ebrary. A free account is needed In order to access some features (i.e. saving notes and highlights).
    Vendor name: Ebrary
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Del Bosque, Darcy
    More info: Tips

    NetLibrary full text
    dates of coverage vary.
    Digital copies of more than 3,000 complete books, reports and other resources covering all academic subject areas.
    Browse e-books for quick research and reference or create a free account to check out items, create notes, and list favorites.
    Vendor name: NetLibrary
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Del Bosque, Darcy

    Learning Express Library full text
    current edition.
    Practice tests for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, CBEST, Praxis I, TOEFL and a number of other standardized job and career tests.
    LearningExpress Library is a full text test preparation and academic skills building database that includes practice tests for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, CBEST, Praxis I, TOEFL and a number of other standardized job and career tests. Skills building components include Elements of Business Writing, Job & Career Success Skills (resume writing, interviewing tips), and math, reading, and writing skills. You will be asked to create your own free account and choose your own user name and password. This creates a space for you on the LearningExpress server so you can save tests and exercises and come back to them.
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Heaton, Shelley
    More info: Help

    Resources for using with K-12 Students

    Discovering Collection full text
    Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
    Reference works, primary sources, creative works and multimedia based on national K-12 curriculum standards.
    Discovering Collection provides access to content based on national curriculum standards covering the core curriculum areas, including history, literature, science, and social studies. The database provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative works, and multimedia.
    Vendor name: Thomson Gale
    Scope: K-12
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula
    More info: Help

    Middle Search Plus full text
    1984-.
    Magazine articles, biographies, historical essays, and student pamphlets for middle school audiences.
    Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays, and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains Essential Documents in American History, and other important information resources such as an Image Collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags, and 76,000 primary source documents. Full text backfiles date as far back as 1989, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. (Update frequency: Updated daily. )
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    Update frequency: Updated daily
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer

    Primary Search full text
    1990-.
    Full text of articles from popular magazines for elementary school research.
    Primary Search provides full text of articles, reports, and special issues for many popular magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a Lexile reading level indicator and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
    Vendor name: Ebsco
    Scope: K-12
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: Search Tips

    SIRS Discoverer ® full text

    This database has been cancelled.
    SIRS Discoverer® is a database designed for young researchers. It is an interactive tool that strengthens research, reading, writing, and computer skills. Because it includes middle and elementary school curriculum topics, it can be easily integrated into classroom activities. Elementary and middle school edition workbooks and a comprehensive educator's guide are included.
    Scope: K-12
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer
    More info: Help

    Culturegrams full text

    Basic facts about history, culture and lifestyles in 187 countries.
    Cultural reports for 187 countries and territories each including 25 categories such as land and climate, history, personal appearance, greetings, gestures, family, diet, holidays, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
    Alternate name: Culturegrams World Edition
    Vendor name: Culturegrams
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Kotula, JD
    More info: Search tips.

    Worldbook Online full text
    current edition. CML only
    Current edition of World Book Encyclopedia with additional web and multimedia resources.
    World Book Online offers the current edition of World Book Encyclopedia with additional web and multimedia resources. Articles are carefully edited to suit the educational level of users from grades 4 through 12.
    Scope: K-12
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: Fabbi, Jennifer

    BrainPop

    Educational animated movies supporting K-12 curricula.
    BrainPOP is an educational program that provides K-12 curriculum-based content spanning seven main subjects including: science, math, English, social studies, health, arts and music, and technology. BrainPOP features more than 600 animated movies. Each movie is supported by activities such as a quiz, comic strip, experiment and other printable worksheets and tied to national subject curriculum standards.
    Vendor name: BrainPOP
    UNLV Libraries Subject Librarian: McMillen, Paula

     

     

    collections | research | ed websites | instruction | faqs | services | general info

    Quick Links:

    E-reserves | Other Libraries | WebCampus | Pioneer Webmail


    College of Education | Department of Curriculum & Instruction

    Course Listings
    | Registration | Student Financial Services | RebelCard Services

    4505 Maryland Parkway  Box 453009  Las Vegas, Nevada 89154-3009
    (702) 895-3593 (702) 895-3528 fax


    Content originator, Jennifer Fabbi
    Page editor, Hinrichs, Patrick

    Updated 01/17/2008
    Copyright © University of Nevada, Las Vegas Libraries
    Disclaimer